Date of Birth

Birthdays are intriguing things. It seems like every has them. They appear quite normal, regular, repetitive, boring even. Just a date on a calendar page. However, the amount of emotion and opinion on them vary so dramatically for each person from joy and excitement, to resentment and disdain, you would think they are the biggest deal in the world…

…well, maybe they are.

They mark the moment in which you received breath. The point that signifies your existence on this earth. The date that says, “beginning.” The axis on which everything begins to spin, take shape, and progress for the rest of our lives. I truly believe that heaven rejoices over every baby (even those still yet in the womb), and it is a party when that precious new little one makes the cry that declares, “I was made to have breath in my lungs! I was created with voice! I was designed with purpose and a destiny! I was made to love and to be loved!”

Depending on the situations that follow that climatic introduction, the worldviews acquired, the normalcy that takes place, and the road that proceeds from there, it makes the drastic reactions to these commemorative days more understandable.

My date of birth was joyful from what I can tell. I was the first born for my young parents, married 3 years at that point, who couldn’t be more excited.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was also the first born grandchild for Jacob and Agnes Funk, who were then blessed with a grandson five days after me, and another five days after him. Three grand kids in 10 days. And I got spoiled! Big time. I was the apple of my parents eye. I was the princess to my grandparents. I was lucky.

My giant blue eyes refused to close as I attempted to take in the world around me. I was fascinated, didn’t want to miss a minute, and couldn’t wait for the opportunity to learn and explore. That was my personality then. That is my personality now. Though I didn’t remain an only child, with a little sister 2.5 years later, followed by a brother 6 years after that, my birthday sustained its “special-ness” over the past 27 birth-days celebrations. It was always a day to look forward to.

Again, I will say, “I’ve been lucky!” My mom, who loved creating traditions or opportunities to celebrate for her family, did an amazing job at celebrating each of us kids. We were made to feel like royalty on our birthdays. I remember many September 23rd’s where I would have a special breakfast, hear again the story of when my mom was pregnant with me and the day of my birth. Usually we would take pictures as a family and to remember the special day. We would indulge in a birthday supper and cake (Usually from Jeanie’s Bakery!). We could not have wanted anything more.

For my 3rd birthday, I actually got a crown at nursery school! Pretty awesome!

I still get excited for birthdays. This past week, I celebrated turning 27. Nothing terribly significant about that number or this year. Nothing noteworthy about the day – it was a Sunday; I worked. Yet, I could feel the same giddy excitement. I could sense it was a celebration. It was to be yet another maker along the path. It was a changing in seasons.

The past 6-8 months have been difficult. Tumultuous and emotional. A whirlwind would be welcome compared to what I feel like I have come through. Somehow the date of my birth this year seemed to be a sign post at a crossroads that read, “God is Good,” “He leads perfectly,” “He works all things for good.” I felt overcome with encouragement.

I couldn’t get Ecclesiastes 3 out of my head. I think it was the way Jesus spoke to me that day:

To everything there is a season,
A time for every purpose under heaven:

A time to be born,
And a time to die;
A time to plant,
And a time to pluck what is planted;
A time to kill,
And a time to heal;
A time to break down,
And a time to build up;
A time to weep,
And a time to laugh;
A time to mourn,
And a time to dance;
A time to cast away stones,
And a time to gather stones;
A time to embrace,
And a time to refrain from embracing;

A time to love,
And a time to hate;
A time of war,
And a time of peace.

For everything there is a season…a time… and this time, at the turning of another year, it feels like a new season, with new things, new twists and turns; new ways God is going to show up in even bigger ways in my life. I can move forward and look ahead to that that is before me with relationships, opportunities and adventures. I get to continue the joyful journey of following Jesus into another year.

And again I will say it, “I am lucky.”

(A few more photos from this year’s birthday. My parents and brother took me out for breakfast)

This was the face he wanted to make for pictures

That’s a much nicer face

My wonderful and adorable parents

My amazing boyfriend surprised me by sending flowers!

Even though he is in a different country, Aaron can still make me smile and feel incredibly loved. What a great present!

3 thoughts on “Date of Birth

Leave a comment